The NCHC announced its plans for a 26-game conference schedule on Friday, with the first 10 games to be played in Omaha as part of a hub.

The conference will be broken into two four-team divisions, with Miami, Western Michigan, St. Cloud State and Minnesota-Duluth comprising the East. Teams will play divisional opponents six times each and members of the opposite division twice.

In an effort to curtail travel, the RedHawks will play the two-game non-divisional series in the Omaha bubble plus two games against one of the teams in the East. That will take place the first three weeks of December.

The remaining 16 games will be held at campus sites. That means Miami will play eight true road games and eight in Oxford.

The RedHawks avoid multiple series vs. North Dakota and Denver, ranked Nos. 2 and 6, respectively in the final 2019-20 poll, but will face UMD, which was ranked fifth at the end of last season, and Western Michigan (No. 16) six times each.

At present, there are no plans for NCHC teams to play out-of-conference games. The Frozen Faceoff remains scheduled for late March.

The actual game schedule will be released in the coming weeks, according to the NCHC’s release.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.